Author Topic: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green  (Read 270 times)

Offline EOJ

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+38)
  • Ultra Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7725
Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« on: October 17, 2020, 01:30:15 AM »
I moved my AV7000 supergun to a different shelf on my bookshelf, and when I plugged it in now it only shows green (well there's some blue too, but definitely no red).  :rolleyes:



I tried three PCBs and it's the same for them all, so it can't be a problem with the PCBs (thank goodness).

I thought it might be a bad RGB cable, so I hooked it up to my TV in the lounge with the composite cable and it's still green. So it has to be either the supergun or the jamma harness. I looked inside the supergun but couldn't see anything loose or damaged. The Jamma harness doesn't have any loose or damaged wires either, but could a bad solder joint cause this? Everything else works fine (inputs, power, sound).

This AV7000 was purchased new from Tops in March 2018, so it's not that old. It's the newer version without the Color Brightness Control (CBC) knob on the top. Actually I wish I had that knob, maybe turning that would fix it...

Any ideas?
My score archive
twitter: cavexstg
XBL gamertag: eojx9999

Offline EOJ

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+38)
  • Ultra Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7725
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2020, 02:06:15 AM »
Here's the color test screen from one of my games:



My score archive
twitter: cavexstg
XBL gamertag: eojx9999

Offline EOJ

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+38)
  • Ultra Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7725
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2020, 03:32:00 PM »
The plan is to order a new JAMMA harness from Tops today. If I get that and it still has the problem, I'll have to get a whole new supergun, which would be a bummer.
My score archive
twitter: cavexstg
XBL gamertag: eojx9999

Offline RandomRetro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Maniac Member
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2020, 05:31:09 PM »
Sucks, sorry to hear. I have a spare AV5000 if the new Jamma Harness doesn't work and you are interested. Let me know.

Offline EOJ

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+38)
  • Ultra Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7725
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2020, 07:41:56 PM »
Thanks for the offer, but I'll probably just buy one of those new AV1 units if needed.  :righton:
My score archive
twitter: cavexstg
XBL gamertag: eojx9999

Offline RandomRetro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Maniac Member
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2020, 12:23:46 AM »
No problem. Hope you can fix you AV7000 either way.

Offline EOJ

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+38)
  • Ultra Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7725
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2020, 11:26:23 PM »
Got the new harness from Tops. It didn't fix the problem.  :-\ Time to order a new supergun.

This AV-7000 died on me after just 2.5 years. So much for their being 'bulletproof', as I had thought.
My score archive
twitter: cavexstg
XBL gamertag: eojx9999

Offline RandomRetro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Maniac Member
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2020, 01:54:33 AM »
Sorry to hear the harness didn't work.

Offline EOJ

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+38)
  • Ultra Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7725
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #8 on: October 26, 2020, 02:00:38 AM »
Yeah, it's a bummer, but I'd rather have this go than one of my PCBs. I'll sell the AV7000 for cheap soon. It's probably an easy fix if you know what you're doing (I do not!!).

I'll have to sell the 9000TB too because it won't work with the 1AV supergun, which I have just ordered today.

And hey, at least I know the original JAMMA harness still works!  :righton:
My score archive
twitter: cavexstg
XBL gamertag: eojx9999

Offline RandomRetro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Maniac Member
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #9 on: October 26, 2020, 10:30:25 AM »
Yeah, for sure better than a PCB. Based on your picture i would start to trace Red and looks for a faulty chip/cap.

Offline EOJ

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+38)
  • Ultra Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7725
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #10 on: November 02, 2020, 05:24:44 PM »
Well here's an interesting twist. I got the 1AV today. Plugged it in with a brand new harness and a brand new RGB cable. Fired it up. STILL GREEN!!!
 :o

I tried different HDMI cables and both inputs on my monitor. Still green.

I tried 4 PCBs. All green.

At this point, it has to be the OSSC that's the problem, though I don't know why I saw all green when I ran the supergun through my TV in the composite inputs (no OSSC used there).

EDIT: Sounds like this has happened to other OSSC users, with the VGA input:

https://videogameperfection.com/forums/topic/vga-input-seems-to-have-lost-red/

Wish I read that thread before buying the new supergun!

My score archive
twitter: cavexstg
XBL gamertag: eojx9999

Offline EOJ

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+38)
  • Ultra Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7725
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #11 on: November 02, 2020, 05:39:54 PM »
Well, before buying anything else I am going to try and update the firmware on my OSSC, I think I am on ver .81 or something. Let's see if that helps!
My score archive
twitter: cavexstg
XBL gamertag: eojx9999

Offline buffi

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Maniac Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #12 on: November 02, 2020, 06:56:30 PM »
Dunno what that supergun outputs, but OSSC can be super picky about voltages.
I had something similar happen on the scart RGB line.

It was one of the IC's close to the input that was fried. Resoldered a new one and it started working again.

Offline EOJ

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+38)
  • Ultra Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7725
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #13 on: November 02, 2020, 07:13:15 PM »
Thanks for the info. I updated the firmware and tried every option available on the menu, but still the problem still remains. I don't know how to solder new ICs, so I'll just order a new one.

If this doesn't fix the problem then I'll officially lose my mind.  :laugh:
My score archive
twitter: cavexstg
XBL gamertag: eojx9999

Offline EOJ

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+38)
  • Ultra Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7725
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #14 on: November 02, 2020, 08:27:08 PM »
I decided to test one more thing today. I couldn't understand why the AV7000 still had this 'green output' problem when plugged into a TV with the composite video output (so, no OSSC involved). In order to test every possible variable, today I plugged the new AV1 and my old AV7000 into the same TV, with the same harness, with the same composite video cable. The AV7000 still had the 'green output problem', but the AV1 was totally fine!!

So basically, through the OSSC (RGB in) both 1AV and AV7000 do not show red. But through composite AV7000 does not show red but 1AV does.

My question is, what event could have happened for the OSSC and AV7000 to both (permanently) lose red output at the same time? This happened after I moved the AV7000 to the shelf below the one it had been on. I did nothing more than move it a foot or two and replug in everything. Then the red was gone for good! Perhaps the red went out on the AV7000 first and it sent some electric charge through the RGB cable that knocked out the red on the OSSC? It is scary that one could take out the other. Thankfully, all my PCBs are fine (I tested them through the composite out on the 1AV).
My score archive
twitter: cavexstg
XBL gamertag: eojx9999

Offline EOJ

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+38)
  • Ultra Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7725
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #15 on: November 21, 2020, 02:28:26 PM »
Update on this. I tested the AV7000 on different equipment and found it still outputs proper RGB, so the "green output" problem was due to the OSSC, not the supergun.

My score archive
twitter: cavexstg
XBL gamertag: eojx9999

Offline emphatic

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Ultra Member
  • *
  • Posts: 610
  • Awesome.
    • My PCB collection
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #16 on: November 22, 2020, 09:14:38 AM »
Update on this. I tested the AV7000 on different equipment and found it still outputs proper RGB, so the "green output" problem was due to the OSSC, not the supergun.

So your previous supergun was totally fine? Man, that sucks.

Offline EOJ

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+38)
  • Ultra Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7725
Re: Sigma AV7000 supergun only showing green
« Reply #17 on: November 22, 2020, 01:42:16 PM »
Well, not totally fine. Through all this I did discover it doesn't output composite video properly, so there is something goofy going on in its video output.

I really like the new 1AV supergun and 3TB controller, and was planning on getting them soon anyway, so this just sped up that process. I will post a review of them soon.
My score archive
twitter: cavexstg
XBL gamertag: eojx9999